SHIFT

Mobility in the future

Brand Space | Exhibition

Sustainability exhibition for the Volkswagen Group

For the Volkswagen Group, Archimedes Exhibitions created the sustainability exhibition Shift shown at DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum in Berlin. With our partner agencies Graft Brandlab and Rat für Ruhm und Ehre, we were responsible for the concept, content, and visual design, as well as the entire production of the exhibition.

In the exhibition as well as the corresponding magazine, “Shift”, the Volkswagen Group addressed its responsibility for the environment and society, focussing on scenarios of the future of mobility. Twelve interactive exhibits offered information and thought-provoking impulses, conveying the diverse possibilities of mobility in sensory and interactive ways. With unexpected perspectives, multimedia terminals, audio stations, and unconventional materials, the dynamic concept of the 1,600 m² exhibition created an extraordinary experience for the visitors.

Keeping the theme of the exhibition in mind during the development and production of the exhibits, we put special emphasis on sustainability. We primarily worked with steel and untreated wood, refrained from using plastic foil, and printed the graphics directly onto the materials. These criteria also played a role in spatial planning: we designed a modular exhibition system that could be upcycled after the show. That way the used materials lived on past the end of the exhibition and carried the principles of sustainability out into the world.

Client: Volkswagen Group Exhibition Space: 1,600 m², twelve interactive exhibits Opening: November 2017 Duration: 16.11.2017 – 28.02.2018

More Information: http://shift.volkswagenag.com/nachhaltigkeitsaustellung/

Facts & Figures

SHIFT - Mobility in the future

1,600
square meters
12
interactive exhibits
168,000
visitors
15
children as furniture designers
1
electric vehicle Sedric
years of subsequent use
© Volkswagen AG
Project Highlight

Shift Afterlife

A co-creative project

To show how long the life cycle of an exhibition can last, we have teamed up with design students from BAU International and the children’s aid project “Die Arche”. In a co-creative project, the up-and-coming designers developed designs and up-cycling ideas to turn the exhibition material into new furniture for socially disadvantaged children of the Arche in Berlin-Hellersdorf. The project was led by Professor Jan Regett, a former product designer at Archimedes Exhibitions who helped develop the Shift exhibition from the very first idea. He guided his students through the development process, which included various stages from workshops in the Arche to the public exhibition of up-cycling ideas. Archimedes Exhibitions provided the young designers with their expertise and opened their workshops to their work. The result: air castles and oases of peace, colourful seating furniture and raised beds that are now in the Berlin-Hellersdorf facility and make the everyday life of the girls and boys there a little better. Simple, beautiful and useful.

SHIFT

Mobilität in der Zukunft

Ausstellung | Brand Space

Die Nachhaltigkeits-Ausstellung für Volkswagen

Für die Volkswagen Group hat Archimedes Exhibitions die Nachhaltigkeitsausstellung Shift im DRIVE Volkswagen Group Forum in Berlin verantwortet und gemeinsam mit den Partneragenturen Graft Brandlab und Rat für Ruhm und Ehre Konzeption, inhaltliche und visuelle Gestaltung sowie die gesamte Produktion übernommen.

Wie im gleichnamigen Magazin Shift thematisiert der Volkswagen Konzern in der Ausstellung seine Verantwortung gegenüber Umwelt und Gesellschaft. Im Mittelpunkt stehen Szenarien für die Mobilität der Zukunft. Informationen und Denkanstöße liefern zwölf interaktive Exponate. Sie vermitteln sinnlich und experimentell mit überraschenden Sichtachsen, multimedialen Terminals, Hörspiel-Stationen und ungewöhnlichen Materialien die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten von Mobilität. Das Spiel mit Gegensätzen und das dynamische Konzept der 1.600 Quadratmeter großen Schau machten die Ausstellung zu einem ungewöhnlichen Erlebnis für die Besucher.

Dem inhaltlichen Anspruch gerecht werdend wurde bei der Entwicklung und beim Bau der Exponate besonderes Augenmerk auf Nachhaltigkeit gelegt. So haben die Gestalter als Materialien vornehmlich Stahl und unbehandeltes Holz verwendet, auf Folie verzichtet und die Grafiken direkt auf die Flächen gedruckt. Auch bei der Raumplanung wurden diese Kriterien berücksichtigt und ein modulares Ausstellungssystem entworfen, das sich optimal zum Upcycling nutzen lässt. Auf diese Weise konnten die verwendeten Materialien auch nach Ausstellungsende weiterleben und die Prinzipien der Nachhaltigkeit in die Welt hinaustragen.

Auftraggeber: Volkswagen Group Ausstellungsfläche: 1.600 m², zwölf interaktive Exponate Laufzeit: 16.11.2017 – 28.02.2018

Weitere Informationen: http://shift.volkswagenag.com/nachhaltigkeitsaustellung/

Zahlen & Fakten

SHIFT - Mobilität in der Zukunft

1.600
Quadratmeter
12
interaktive Exponate
168.000
Besucher
1
Elektrofahrzeug Sedric
15
Kinder als Möbeldesigner
viele Lebensjahre Nachnutzung
© Volkswagen AG
Projekt Highlight

Die Shift Nachnutzung

Ein ko-kreatives Projekt

Prämisse der Ausstellung war von Anfang an, dass sie ihr eigenes Konzept der Nachhaltigkeit auch leben sollte. So wollten wir gemeinsam mit Volkswagen zeigen, wie lang der Lebenszyklus einer Ausstellung sein kann. Dafür haben wir uns nach dem Ende der Schau mit Design-Studierenden der BAU International und dem Kinderhilfsprojekt Die Arche zusammengetan. In einem ko-kreativen Prozess mit den Kindern der Arche Berlin-Hellersdorf entwickelten die Nachwuchsdesigner Entwürfe für Upcycling-Ideen, um aus dem Ausstellungsmaterial neue Möbel zu gestalten. Geleitet wurde das Projekt von Professor Jan Regett, der als ehemaliger Produktdesigner bei Archimedes Exhibitions die Shift-Ausstellung von der ersten Idee an mitentwickelt hat. Er führte seine Studierende durch den Entwicklungsprozess, der verschiedene Stationen von Workshops in der Arche bis zur öffentlichen Ausstellung der fertigen Möbel umfasste. Archimedes stellte den jungen Gestaltern seine Expertise zur Seite und öffnete die Werkstätten für die Arbeiten. Das Resultat: Luftschlösser und Ruheoasen, bunte Sitzmöbel und Hochbeete, die jetzt in der Einrichtung in Berlin-Hellersdorf stehen und den Alltag der Mädchen und Jungen dort ein bisschen besser machen. Einfach, schön und nützlich. So lebt die Ausstellung noch lange weiter.