Energetica

Wind, water and sun on the rooftop of the NEMO in Amsterdam

NEMO; Opening Energetica
NEMO; Opening Energetica
Exhibition | Science Centre

The outdoor exhibition for the NEMO Science Centre in Amsterdam

On the roof of the NEMO Science Museum in Amsterdam our outdoor exhibition Energetica is dedicated to the elements wind, water and sun which are made tangible in a playful way through interactive exhibits. The highest point of the city is thus transformed to a social platform that encourages the visitors to get in touch with renewable energies and complex ecological processes.

Drawing on the original concept of the creative agency Northern Light, Archimedes has refined the exhibition design and customised the exhibits according to the weather conditions before assembling them on-site. The hands-on installations enable the visitors to create rainbows, to illuminate high-tech sunloungers with the help of thermochromatic colours, or to fly a kite in the wind park. Thus, the exhibition dynamically reacts to the interplay between visitor and nature: The available energy of wind and sun is directly shown by water fountains with which the visitors can compete by demonstrating their own strength.

Energetica is about power, but also about finesse and awareness for self-sustaining energy supply which will be ever more important in the future. Accordingly, the exhibits are part of nature but high-tech at the same time. The result is a fascinating contrast that changes in the course of the seasons and in dialogue with the audience, constantly recreating new social and natural spaces.

More information about the exhibition can be found here.

Client: NEMO Science Museum Exhibition Space: 800 m² Opening: April 2016 Languages: Dutch | English

More Information: https://www.nemosciencemuseum.nl/en/activities-at-nemo/exhibitions/energetica/

© DigiDaan
Project Highlight

The building of the NEMO Science Museum

A constructional highlight of stararchitect Renzo Piano

Right in the harbour of Amsterdam star architect Renzo Piano created an architectural masterpiece: the NEMO Science Museum. The building in the form of an uprising ship is completely covered in green shimmering copper. On its rooftop, Renzo Piano realized a personal vision for Amsterdam: he wanted to give the city a new meeting place. Since its opening in 1997 visitors and locals are coming together 22 meters above ground, experiencing stunning views over the city – around the clock and free of charge. After more than 20 years Archimedes had the honour to implement another idea of Renzo Piano: with “Energetica” the roof now hosts an open-air exhibition, that is open to the public.

Energetica

Wind, Wasser und Sonne auf dem Dach des NEMO in Amsterdam

© DigiDaan
© DigiDaan
Ausstellung | Science Center

Die Outdoor-Ausstellung für das NEMO in Amsterdam

Auf dem Dach des Science Centers NEMO in Amsterdam widmet sich die Outdoor-Ausstellung Energetica den Elementen Wind, Wasser und Sonne und macht sie mit interaktiven Exponaten spielerisch erfahrbar. So wird der höchste Punkt der Stadt zu einem Begegnungsort mit erneuerbaren Energien und sensibilisiert zur Auseinandersetzung mit komplexen ökologischen Prozessen.

Aufbauend auf dem ursprünglichen Konzept der Kreativagentur Northern Light hat Archimedes das Ausstellungsdesign weiterentwickelt, die Exponate den Wetterbedingungen angepasst und vor Ort aufgebaut. Die Hands-On-Installationen ermöglichen es, Regenbogen zu erschaffen, Hightech-Sonnenstühle lassen sich mit thermochromen Farben zum Leuchten bringen und im Windpark kann man Drachen steigen lassen. Dabei reagiert die Ausstellung dynamisch auf das Wechselspiel von Besucher und Natur: Die vorhandene Energie von Wind und Sonne wird z.B. von Wasserfontänen  dargestellt, mit deren Kraft sich die Besucher messen können.

Bei Energetica geht es nicht nur um Kraft, sondern auch um Fingerspitzengefühl und ein Bewusstsein für autarke Energieversorgung, die in der Zukunft auch in Deutschland eine wesentliche Rolle spielen wird. Entsprechend sind die Exponate Teil der Natur und High-Tech zugleich. Daraus ergibt sich ein interessanter Kontrast, der im Wechselspiel zwischen Besuchern und Elementen immer wieder einen neuen sozialen und natürlichen Raum schafft.

Auftraggeber: NEMO Science Museum Ausstellungsfläche: 800 m² Outdoorfläche Eröffnung:  April 2016 Sprachen: Niederländisch | Englisch

Weitere Informationen: https://www.nemosciencemuseum.nl/en/activities-at-nemo/exhibitions/energetica/

© DigiDaan
Projekt Highlight

Das Gebäude

Ein bauliches Highlight von Stararchitekt Renzo Piano

Mit dem NEMO Science Museum schuf der Stararchitekt Renzo Piano ein bauliches Highlight mitten im Amsterdamer Hafen. Das Gebäude in Form eines aufragenden Schiffsrumpfes ist vollständig mit grün schimmerndem Kupfer verkleidet. Auf dem Dach des Museums setzte Renzo Piano seine persönliche Vision für Amsterdam um: er wollte einen neuen Ort der Begegnung für die Stadt schaffen. In 22 Metern Höhe treffen sich seit der Eröffnung 1997 Bewohner und Besucher und erleben einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Stadt – rund um die Uhr, auch ohne Eintrittskarte. Archimedes durfte mit “Energetica” nach über 20 Jahren eine weitere Idee von Renzo Piano umsetzen, die das Dach als öffentlich zugängliche Ausstellungsfläche vorgesehen hatte.