Felix the Robot

Visitor magnet and globetrotter

Exhibit

The robot that looks like a human

When Felix raises his eyebrows or smiles with joy, the components of his robot head emit a clicking noise. Not exactly a human sound, but his grin looks real and encourages the visitors to start an emotional interaction.

People have a tendency to assign human traits like character, emotions, and behaviour to inanimate objects. This is what the interactive exhibit Felix the Robot plays on: on the one hand, the visitors see a pointedly technological construction (turned and milled parts, Bowden cables, and cogwheels); on the other hand, they perceive Felix’s facial expressions as emotional behaviour. They respond to him as if he were a person and immediately start interacting with him. An exciting back-and-forth between these two levels of perception occurs, as Felix can express the most important emotions people interact with in real time: joy, grief, anger, and surprise.

Felix the Robot is a valuable exhibit in contexts with a focus on intensive visitor involvement, especially within IT-related topics and industries. Created originally for the Copernicus Science Centre in Warsaw, you can now meet Felix in Dortmund, Beijing, Shenyang, and even in Perth, Australia.

Felix the Robot

Besuchermagnet und Weltenbummler

Exponat

Felix: der menschliche Roboter

Wenn Felix die Augenbrauen hochzieht oder freudig lächelt, klackern die Einzelteile seines Roboterkopfs. Kein menschliches Geräusch, aber das Grinsen wirkt echt und animiert die Besucher, mit Felix in emotionale Interaktion zu treten.

Wir neigen dazu, auch unbelebten Objekten menschliche Eigenschaften wie Charakter, Gefühle oder Verhalten zuzusprechen. Damit spielt das interaktive Exponat „Felix the Robot”: Auf der einen Seite sehen die Besucher einen demonstrativ technologischen Aufbau (Drehteile, Frästeile, Bowdenzüge, Zahnräder). Auf der anderen Seite werten sie die Gesichtsausdrücke von Felix als „emotionales Verhalten“. Sie reagieren auf ihn wie auf ein menschliches Gegenüber und beginnen sofort mit einer Interaktion. In der Wahrnehmung entsteht so eine spannende Begegnung zwischen diesen beiden Ebenen, denn Felix kann in Echtzeit die wichtigsten Emotionen, mit denen Menschen interagieren, ausdrücken: Freude, Trauer, Ärger und Erstaunen.

Felix the Robot kann überall eingesetzt werden, wo man auf intensives Involvement von Besuchern setzt – insbesondere bei IT-affinen Themen und Branchen. Geschaffen ursprünglich für das Copernicus Science Centre in Warschau, können Sie Felix mittlerweile in Dortmund, Beijing, Shenyang und sogar in Perth, Australien, begegnen.