The Journey of Steel

A comic to walk through the world of steel

Brand Space | Exhibition

The exhibition for the world’s largest steel company ArcelorMittal

For the world’s largest steel company, ArcelorMittal, Archimedes has designed a walk-through comic in Ostrava, that leads visitors through a journey into the world of steel. Using a combination of hand drawings and renderings, Archimedes has created an exhibition landscape which allows plenty of room for creativity and new knowledge.

In the exhibition, visitors get to know steel in all its facets and learn more about the range and significance of this creative material. Since steel is at the beginning of so many products, it is almost omnipresent in our everyday lives. Steel is referred to as the “raw material” of modern economies and societies. In addition, steel is not only particularly versatile, but also sustainable as it is 100% recyclable. Moreover, ArcelorMittal and Archimedes Exhibitions show the aesthetic side of steel, which is not only rough and solid, dark or archaic, but also forms the basis for design, clinical laboratory equipment and everyday objects.

Visitors are repeatedly asked in the exhibition to become active themselves. Therefor they can produce their own design object: a spoon made of steel. The visitor has to expend energy, to pull, crank, turn until he has produced his own spoon. The approach of the exhibition is not static, but interactive and moving. To a certain extent, the scenery never stands still, just as the blast furnace of a steelworks constantly boils.

Client: ArcelorMittal Ostrava Exhibition Space: 260 m² Opening: 2015 Languages: Czech | English | Polish

More Information: https://www.plotmag.com/blog/2015/10/journeyofsteel/

Project Highlight

Comic-Genre

A comic to walk through

For the style of this exhibition, we deliberately chose a comic scenography. It creates a sympathetic and lively world in which the imagination of the visitors can run free. In front of a drawn and animated landscape, the visitor can operate the interactive exhibits both physically and digitally by their own hand. Large comic arrows and speech bubbles convey key messages, special effects such as light and sound underline the scenery. The huge machinery and equipment from steelmaking are cut open, are sort of “dissected” and provide unique insights into processes that are otherwise invisible.

The Journey of Steel

Ein begehbarer Comic über die Welt des Stahls

Ausstellung | Brand Space

Die Ausstellung für den weltweit größten Stahlkonzern ArcelorMittal

Für den größten Stahlkonzern der Welt, ArcelorMittal, hat Archimedes am Standort Ostrava einen begehbaren Comic entworfen, in dem Besucher sich auf eine Reise in die Welt des Stahls begeben können. Aus einer Kombination von Handzeichnungen und Renderings entstand eine Ausstellungslandschaft, die viel Freiraum für Kreativität und neues Wissen zulässt.

In der Ausstellung lernen Besucher Stahl in allen Facetten kennen und erfahren mehr über Bandbreite und Bedeutung des Materials. Stahl steht am Anfang so vieler Produkte, dass er in unserem Alltag omnipräsent ist. Er wird auch als „Grundstoff“ moderner Ökonomien und Gesellschaften bezeichnet und ist nicht nur besonders vielseitig, sondern auch zu 100% recycelbar. ArcelorMittal und Archimedes Exhibitions zeigen in der „Journey of Steel“ die ästhetische Seite von Stahl, der nicht nur rauh und fest, dunkel und archaisch ist, sondern Grundlage für Design, klinische Laborgeräte und Alltagsgegenstände bildet.

Die Besucher dürfen in der Ausstellung immer wieder selbst aktiv werden. Sie können ihren eigenen Designgegenstand herstellen: einen Löffel aus Stahl. Der Besucher muss Kraft aufwenden, ziehen, kurbeln, drehen, bis er einen eigenen Löffel produziert hat. Der Ansatz der Ausstellung ist nicht statisch, sondern interaktiv und bewegt. Die Szenerie steht gewissermaßen niemals still, so wie der Hochofen eines Stahlwerks konstant vor sich hin kocht.

Auftraggeber: ArcelorMittal Ostrava Ausstellungsfläche: 260 m² Eröffnung: 2015 Sprachen: Tschechisch | Englisch | Polnisch

Mehr Informationen: https://www.plotmag.com/blog/2015/10/journeyofsteel/

Projekt Highlight

Comic-Genre

Ein Comic zum Begehen

Als prägendes Stilelement der Szenografie ist bewusst das Comic-Genre gewählt worden. Dadurch wurde eine sympathische und lebendige Welt kreiert, in der die Imaginationskraft der Besucher angeregt wird und eine ungewöhnliche Sicht auf das Produkt Stahl entsteht. Vor einer gezeichneten und animierten Landschaft kann der Besucher die interaktiven Exponate sowohl physisch als auch digital animiert eigenständig bedienen. Große Comic-Pfeile und Sprechblasen vermitteln Schlüsselbotschaften, Spezialeffekte wie Licht und Sound unterstreichen die Szenerie. Die riesigen Maschinen und Geräte aus der Stahlproduktion sind aufgeschnitten, gewissermaßen „seziert“ und bieten einzigartige Einblicke in Prozesse, die sonst nicht zugänglich sind.